Natives Rifle Club Inc.

Est. 1901

Photo Album 2019
HomeAbout UsContact UsCalendarResultsRelated Links

Photo Albums from Previous Years:

2018 Photo Album
2017 Photo Album 2016 Photo Album 2015 Photo Album
2014 Photo Album 2013 Photo Album 2012 Photo Album
2011 Photo Album
2010 Photo Album 2009 Photo Album

The Natives Rifle Club's trophy presentations were conducted at the Clubhouse on Saturday evening, December 14th.
A great dinner was prepared by Club  members and their partners and it was an enjoyable occasion.

Trophies were presented by Club Captain Luke Baker's daughter, Chloe.

Club Champions L to R: Kim O'Loghlen (A Grade), Michael Halpin (B Grade), Marcia Canty (C Grade)

Club Champions L to R: Wayne Latham (F-Class Std), George Constantinou (F-Class Open), John Stevens (F-TR)
Left: Wayne Blair (F-Std Short Range Champ),
Centre: Captain Luke presenting appreciation award to Lilly Halpin for her support in the F-Class Fixtures Matches.
Right: Captain Luke's appreciation award to Treasurer, Lyle Vinter, for his work in modernising the financial records.

Left: Captain Luke's encouragement award for Issac Brinin who has shown great improvement in his skills and scores during the year
Right: Captain Luke recognising John Menzel's Life Membership Award and acknowledging John's ongoing valuable support to the Club.

Natives Rifle Club F-Class Fixtures Team Members:
2019 MDRA F-Class Fixtures Championship Winners with a clean-sweep of all Fixtures matches during the year.
(Missing: Paul Menzel, Brad Ruthven)
A Champion Team and a Team of Champions!

2019 Trophy Lineup

I never eat desserts!!!

Young Natives Rifle Club member, Josh Pratt, continued on his winning way shooting consist high scores over the weekend to win the Les Perrin Memorial Trophy for the top Target Rifle score.

Josh was second on Day 1, one point behind George Edser of Albert & Central, third on Day 2 one point behind each of Michael Dickenson (Prattan) and Hamish Pollock (University) all of which gave him an 11 central bullseye win over Leigh O'Donnell of Pacific for the two days to take home the coveted No.1 Badge.

Josh Pratt, winner of the Natives Rifle Club 2019 Les Perrin Memorial Aggregate receives the perpetual trophy from Adele Wimberley, Les' daughter.

Other Grade winners:
 L to R: Derek Sharp (B), David Hindmarsh (C), Brian Potter (F-Open)

Mark Fairbairn (F-Std A), Ivor Davidson (F-Std B), Frans Knox (F-TR)

L to R: Kim O'Loghlen (A Grade 15th Badge), Wayne Latham (F-Std B 2nd Badge)

L to R: Wayne Blair (F-Std B 4th Badge), Lyle Vinter (B Grade 5th Badge)

L: Natives Club Captain, Luke Baker, presents the Keith Affleck Belt to George Edser (Albert & Central).
R: George with his Affleck Belt mug and his top scoring Veteran's Q-Store voucher.
L: Vice Captain, Kim O'Loghlen presents Kevin Howlett with the Lucky Entry $500 voucher.  Better than pay-day, Kev!
M: Captain Luke presents Brian Pickles with his raffle win, a $100 Q-Store voucher! Worth a smile, Brian!
R: Ian Errington is all smiles after his 47.6 at 500 yards.  Many more centres to come, Ian!

L to R: Captain Luke is happy with the proceedings; Wendy Latham sheltering from the Queensland winter sun; Steve Smith grinning as usual!

Competitors on the mound

Looking down-range from 600 yards on a beautiful Queensland winters day - where else would you want to be?

Captain Luke looks on approvingly as Josh Pratt delivers his winner's acceptance speech.
This is not a first for Josh and there will be many more to come from this remarkable young marksman.




At the Annual General Meeting of the Club on Sunday, February 17, 2019 the members wholeheartedly endorsed a motion by Club Captain, Luke Baker, to install Past Captain and long-time member, John Menzel, as a Honorary Life Member of the Natives Rifle Club for outstanding service to the Club over many years.

John's energy and enthusiasm for the sport of fullbore target rifle shooting, and the Natives Rifle Club in particular, has helped progress the Club to be the largest in Queensland.  His strong leadership whilst Captain produced a cohesive and formidable membership and provided a solid financial basis to enable the Club to move forward with confidence.  John has been extremely generous with his time and financial support for the Club and to several of it's fledgling members. 

Honorary Life Member, John Menzel, acknowledging his new status.



These Championships were held on the Trentham range in New Zealand as part of an extensive program which commenced on January 25, 2019 with the NZRA Championships and concluded on February 10th with the International Palma Teams matches.

Competitors representing New Zealand, Australia, the USA, Great Britain, South Africa, Canada and the Channel Islands were participating in these Championships which indicates the world-class level of fullbore target shooters involved.

Included in the program was the World Veterans Teams Championships, the World Under-25 Teams Championships and the World Under-21 Teams Championships.  The Australian Teams displayed their awesome talents by winning all of these Championships.  Natives Club members John Caske was manager for the Veterans Team and Josh Pratt was a shooter in the Under-21 Team.

In the individual IWLRC, Natives Club members displayed their skills with Don Thompson winning the Gold Medal for the 1000 yards match on Day 1 while Tim Berry won the Gold Medal for the 1000 yards match on Day 2 as well as the Gold Medal for the 800 yards match on Day 3.

Josh Pratt was the standout performer when the 15 year old again showed his brilliant skills by finishing 16th in the ILRWC and won the Under-21 Aggregate.  Just remember that this was against the very best fullbore target shooters in the world!

The final event on the ILRWC program was the prestigious Palma Teams matches contested by teams of 16 from each of the countries mentioned above.  The Palma consists of 15 shots at 800, 900 and 1000 yards fired on each of two consecutive days.  The Palma match originated in the USA in 1876 as a celebration of the independence of that country and is now held every four years with one of the competing countries hosting the event.  The Palma was last held in Australia at the Belmont range in 2011.

Australia won the Palma Teams match this year in convincing style by 77 points from arch-rivals, Great Britain, with the USA a further 19 points back.  This result is the culmination of the efforts put in by the team over recent years in preparing for this major competition!

Results from all the NZRA, International teams and ILRWC matches are available on the NZRA website at

Josh Pratt (Left) shooting on the Trentham range

Josh Pratt, 16th in the International Long Range World Championships

  Left: Don Thompson; Right: Shaun Connolly
John Caske and his Veterans Team Gold Medal

Australian Veterans World Champion Team 2019

Australian Under-21 World Champion Rifle Team 2019
Josh Pratt, back row, second from right.
(Photos compliments of Vicki Pratt and John Caske)

Left: The fabulous Palma Trophy; Right: The Palma Inscription

Australian Palma Team shooters and coaches on the firing mound
Australia, The World Long Range Champions 2019!
(Photos from Facebook)


Go to Top of Page