

NATIVES RIFLE CLUB No.4 INC

Established 1901 Clubhouse: - Duncan Rifle Range, Belmont Brisbane

PO Box 38, Carina QLD 4152

02/02/2020

This year, our club was strengthened by a number of new, regular members. Ryan Eitenauer, Tim Hodson, John Stevens, Isaac Brinin and a returning Karen Heald joined Natives, and are proving to be fantastic additions to the club culture and success. It is very pleasing to see the participation and membership rates of our junior contingent ever increasing. Our club is stronger for it, and the mix in demographics makes Natives a true 'family' club. I continue to be very proud of the club's evolution. Thanks to all members who have assisted new members and visitors, and for those volunteers on Thursday and Saturday, your contribution is always appreciated. This year I had the pleasure and honour of awarding life membership to club member, John Menzel. His continued service to the club and shooting in general are unparalleled. We are lucky to have his guidance and support.

Fixtures took pride of place within the club this year, with a greater focus on participation and results. We saw the introduction of team captains appointed for the duration. Thanks to Scott Morley (comp), Wayne Blair (FC), John Menzel (Div2 TR) and Kim O'Loghlen (Div1 TR). Natives were in the hunt for 4 division wins right up until the last fixture, eventually seeing us take out a win in F-Class, after an undefeated Fixture season. Other final positions saw the composite team take 4th (including a fixture win against strong 1st teams for 2 clubs). Div1 (3rd), Div2 (2nd) and Pennants (2nd) were beaten to the post, but we as a club have learned some hard lessons are are ready to approach 2020 aggressively. Hopefully the 1000yd whiskey is ours next year. Thanks to all members for their hard work and dedication to the club's cause in 2019.

Our club champions for the year were Kim O'Loghlen (TR-A), Michael Halpin (TR-B), Marcia Canty (TR-C), Wayne Latham (FS, and Veteran's prize), George Constantinou (F-Open), John Stevens (FTR) and Josh Pratt (U25). Congratulations for these fine performances. The MDRA Champion of Champions competition resulted in Josh Pratt and Wayne Latham victorious, with Josh going on to win the QRA Champion of Champions. Fine individual performances were many, with a small selection as follows; Kim O'Loghlen (MDRA A-Grade champion), John Caske (Veteran Team Gold medal WLRC 2019 (NZ), MDRA OPM (B-Grade 1st), Craig Pratt (QRA Juniors OPM - FTR 1st, South Burnett DRA OPM - FTR 1st), Josh Pratt (U25 QRA Champion, U21 Aus Team World Champion, Natives OPM A-Grade 1st). Ian Errington (QRA Juniors OPM - C grade 1st) A Marvellous club result in the QRA Queens saw 3 members in the top 10; Josh Pratt (4th), Leigh Marett (9th) and Don Thompson (10th). We also had 3 members of the victorious Martin Baxter match (Josh Pratt, Luke Baker and Kim O'Loghlen), and a contingent of members won the QRA Club Teams match. Congratulations everyone.

93 entries to the Natives OPM this year was helped along by a large number of F-class shooters, and we appreciate the tireless contributions of John Menzel, Bob Cramp and the Syndicate 1 ET team. Grade winners were; The Perrin Shield – Josh Pratt (TR-A), Derek Sharp (Mariners TR-B), David Hindmarsh (Wodonga TR-C), Mark Fairbain (Cannon Hill FSA), Ivor Davidson (Ipwich FSB), Brian Potter (Mariners FO) and Franz Knox (Brisbane FTR). George Edser (Albert / Central) won the prestigious Keith Affleck belt. This event doesn't go on without our sponsors. Thanks to; The Menzel family, The QRA and Q-Store, Carina Leagues Club and the Perrin Family.

Our strengthening of ties with our generous sponsor, The Carina Leagues Club continues in earnest. Along with our significant attendance at the Sportspersons' of the year awards, we also welcomed the CLC board to the range for an introductory shoot which was well received by all. We also appreciated this topic being mentioned as a positive experience in the CLC Chairperson's speech. Our prize winners on the night of Sportsperson's Awards were: Club Person of the Year (Michael Halpin), TR-A (Leigh Marrett), TR-B (Michael Halpin), TR-C (Teddy Spence), FS (Wayne Latham) and FO (George Constantinou). Josh Pratt was also awarded a special award for his services to shooting.

We had the great pleasure of also welcoming 13 ex-servicemen members of the Beenleigh RSL for a come-and-try, and participated in our first Bunnings BBQ winning hearts and minds. These community initiatives are close to my heart, and go a long way to breaking the stigma of the shooting sports. I hope this will continue into the future. Thanks to the executive for 2019, Wayne Blair and Kim O'Loghlen (VC FC & TR), Wendy Latham (Hon. Sec), Lyle Vinter (Treasurer), John Menzel (Providor), Wayne Latham (webmaster and stats). Thanks to all members for making our club what it is today.

We rise.

Luke Baker - Club Captain 2019.